A Toosum Guide to a Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten-Free Diet

A Guide to a Gluten-Free Diet

Here's an overview of the gluten-free (GF) diet. This guide is intended to be used as a safe and temporary tool that can introduce you into the gluten-free world. First and foremost, one must understand the dietary requirements and be able to read labels of food products to determine if a product is gluten-free.

Celiac disease (CD) is a life-long genetic disorder that affects children and adults. More than 18 million Americans suffer from gluten sensitivity. When people with CD eat foods that contain gluten, it creates a toxic reaction that causes damage to the small intestine. Even small amounts of gluten in foods may affect those with CD and cause health problems.

Gluten is the name for certain types of proteins contained in common cereal grains, barley, rye and their derivatives. Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to 1/2 cup dry oats daily) are tolerated by most celiacs. Gluten-free oats are currently available in the United States.

Gluten-Free Diet 2

The key to a gluten-free diet is to become a good label reader. Don’t eat foods with labels that list ingredients you don’t recognize unless you can verify they do not contain or are not derived from prohibited grains. Labels must be read every time foods are purchased.

Gluten-Free Diet 3

BE A FOOD DETECTIVE

Verify ingredients by calling or writing a food manufacturer and specifying the ingredient and the lot number of the food in question. State your needs clearly—be patient, persistent and polite.

Gluten-Free Diet 4

Don’t eat a food if you are unable to verify the ingredients or if the ingredient list is unavailable. Regardless of the amount eaten, if you have celiac disease, damage to the small intestine occurs every time gluten is consumed, whether symptoms are present or not.

Gluten-Free Diet 5

Introduce only one new food at a time. Listen to your body for adverse reactions before trying a second new food item.

Gluten-Free Diet 6

Products labeled wheat free are not necessarily gluten free. They may still contain spelt, rye or barley-based ingredients that are not gluten free. Spelt is a form of wheat.

Gluten-Free Diet 7

Grains allowed

Rice, Corn (Maize), Soy, Potato, Tapioca, Beans, Garfava, Sorghum, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Amaranth, Teff, Montina, Flax and Nut Flours.

Grains not allowed in any form

Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale.

Foods/products that may contain gluten

Beers, Ales, Lager, Breading & Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications, Energy Bars, Flour & Cereal Products, Herbal Supplements, Imitation Bacon, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Nutritional Supplements, Pastas, Processed Luncheon Meats, Sauces & Gravies, Self-basting Poultry, Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffings, Dressings, Thickeners (Roux), Vitamins & Mineral Supplements

At Toosum, we stand by our gluten free snack bars. Delicious and nutritious is what we believe in. Make sure you grab one today at www.toosum.com 

Gluten-Free Diet 8

ABOUT TOOSUM


We know you’re careful about what you eat at meal times—lots of veggies, healthy protein, complex carbs. But snack time can be tricky because many “healthy” snack bars out there are loaded with sugar and calories or packed with preservatives and other ingredients concocted in a lab, not a kitchen.

Say Hello to Toosum!

Share This Article


Comments

No comments. Please feel free to be the first.


Leave a comment

All comments are held for moderation. Your comment will appear shortly.